On land that he had begun accumulating in 1887, J. Kennedy Tod developed Innis Arden, his 147-acre estate on what we know today as Greenwich Point. Tod built a thirty-seven room mansion and a number of outbuildings and then he built a nine hole golf course. His neighbors in Sound Beach, as Old Greenwich was called then, were invited to join his golf club, and so on November 11, 1899 Innis Arden Golf Club was organized by sixty-four charter members. Next to the first tee, Mr. Tod’s Innis Arden gates now stand guard; a proud reminder of the Club’s storied past.
Innis Arden is a private club and today boasts a renovated eighteen hole golf course and practice range designed by Ken Dye. In addition, the Club has added a golf teaching hut, cart barn and a paddle hut. We also have seven Har-tru tennis courts, four of which are covered for winter play and four paddle tennis courts. The Club recently rebuilt its Poolhouse which features a two lane bowling alley, a state of the art fitness center, brand new locker rooms, a lounge area with a TV and fireplace, an outdoor viewing deck, and our Bluefish Café that provides food and beverages during the summer months.
The main Clubhouse includes a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, which accommodates four dining rooms and includes a strategically positioned dining deck overlooking the first tee.