On land that he had begun accumulating in 1887, J. Kennedy Tod developed Innis Arden, his 147 acre estate on what we know today as Greenwich Point. Tod built a thirty-seven room mansion and a number of outbuildings, and then he built a nine hole golf course. His neighbors in Sound Beach, as Old Greenwich was called then, were invited to join his golf club, and so on November 11, 1899 Innis Arden Golf Club was organized by sixty-four charter members. Next to the first tee, Mr. Tod’s Innis Arden gates now stand guard; a proud reminder of the Club’s storied past.
Today Innis Arden boasts a newly renovated eighteen hole golf course and practice range designed by Ken Dye. The Club also added a golf teaching hut, a new cart barn, and a well-stocked Golf Shop. The Club takes great pride in its very active and competitive aquatics program; its seven Har-tru tennis courts, four of which are covered for winter play; and four paddle tennis courts with a brand new paddle warming hut. The Clubhouse features a gourmet kitchen with four dining rooms as well as a dining deck overlooking the first tee.